Fake Test pressings
Or how I was stupid enought to get ripped off on Ebay

My story

This is my story of how I have been ripped off by people who sells faked white labels on Ebay. I collect Motorhead and the most wanted stuff for me are the white labels test pressings. In the beginning of the summer of 2007 the seller bluepyevinnie listed a white label copy of the UK pressing of Overkill and a white label copy of Bomber, UK pressing as well. I lost the auction and they were both sold for over GBP 100. A few days later I got a second chance offer for my bid at GBP 100. I thought this was very strange. How come someone has not just one copy but two copies of a test pressing. Original test pressings are very unusual. There were probably only made about 10 or 20 copies and they were distributed to the band, managers and other people associated with the band. So I asked Bluepyevinnie how come he owned 2 copies of Overkill and two copies of Bomber. This is what he answered 07-06-12:

“They came from the same man. He was a roadie for Motorhead for years and he was my roadie when I was in MAMMOTH back in the 80's. That's how we became friends. He was my drum roadie for 4 years on and off and in between work with Motorhead. He was also a sound engineer for Motorhead. Anyway, the copies in my own collection are very near MINT condition. They have only ever been played 2 or 3 times at the most. I'd be grateful if you could let me know as I've had so many questions about selling the other stuff.
Many thanks,
Kind Regards,

So I fell for it. I thought it sounded like it could be true. Very stupid of me. I told him he I wanted to do the deal, I thought I still will be able to give him negative feedback and report him if there is something fishy because I thought it sounded to good to be true. Then he told me I should not use his email when I paid with paypal:

“My paypal account is currently frozen due to someone paying me with a stolen credit card. So the payment would need to be sent to my wife (her name is Lynne Reed) and her PayPal account e-mail address is lynnereed@tiscali.co.uk All the addresses and other information is identical. That's all, nothing too sinister, just really annoying. My account has been frozen for ages pending an enquiry. It had been frozen for 28 days, then when I wrote and complained they froze it again pending further enquiry. They are happy to take the payments but they won't allow me to withdraw anything, so I can't get hold of the funds to put into my bank account. I have lawyers working on this case at the moment because I'm sure what they are doing is illegal. There's no fault on my part. I accepted the payment because I assumed PayPal vet the customer before accepting them. I really don't know what they are up to. All I know is that they are currently holding over £3,000 worth of funds and not allowing me any access to it. So that is why I would be grateful if you could pay into Lynne's account. Please let me know if that's OK with you.
Kind Regards,

Fake test...(startpage), 2 (this page), 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10,

Contact   |   Back to main page